by Peter Perla

Somehow we managed to leave out one of our faithful playtesters. So, a big hand for: Jim Kozinski.

1. Rule 1.1 Map
Add at the end of the section:
Areas that meet only at a point are not considered adjacent for any game purpose. (See the definition of Adjacent in the Glossary.) For example, Area 19 is not adjacent to Area 38 and Area 20 is not adjacent to Area 37.

2. Rule 3.2 Sequence of Play
Add at the beginning of the section:

Players alternate "Player Impulses" in the Action Phase. A full impulse, as marked off on the Inmpulse Track, consists of a USA Player Impulse followed by a CSA Player Impulse. The Impulse Marker is advanced only at the end of a CSA Player Impulse. (IMPORTANT EXCEPTION: Each scenario, unless otherwise noted, starts with CSA impulse 0. After the CSA player performs all actions in his impulse, Impulse marker is turned to USA side (note that the Impulse marker is misprinted, however) and moved to Impulse 1. The USA player performs all actions in his impulse, the Impulse marker is turned to CSA side, and remains on Impulse 1. After the CSA impulse is complete and the die roll indicates that the turn continues, flip the marker to the USA side and then move it to Impulse 2. This continues (performing actions, turning Impulse marker to opposing side, and moving ahead one on the Impulse track) until both players pass in consecutive impulses, or the requirements for "Ending the Action Phase (p. 4) are met. Players may choose to Pass in their Impulse without giving up the right to act in a later Impulse.

Editor's and Developer's Note: The following is a slightly different, and clearer, version of the Impulse advancement rule, amended by the designer on February 2, 1997.

3. Rule 3.2 Sequence of Play
Add after the first sentence in subsection 5. End Phase:
The Impulse marker never moves beyond 13 on the track, even if turn continues while the current impulse marker is on "13." In effect, the Impulse marker stays on 13 until the turn ends.

4. Rule 3.2 Sequence of Play
Add to the end of the paragraph 3. Action Phase, after the phrase "ONE of the following things": "in any order the Active player sees fit"

5. Rule 5.6 Activating Reinforcements
Add to the end of the rule:

This applies even if the arrival is delayed, but only on the actual turn of arrival.

6. Rule 6.5 Deactivating Leaders; subsection 3:
If there are no units of his command in play, place him with any friendly unit within his movement range or, if there are no such units, then on any area free of enemy units within his movement range.

7. Rule 16.2.2 Tracing line of Sight
Blocking terrain in the target Area itself does NOT block the LOS into that Area.

[Special thanks to Rob Winslow for his suggested wording to some of the above additions]

1. Amend Rule 10.7 Movement Restrictions as follows:

Artillery, Horse Artillery, and Leaders may never enter an Area containing enemy infantry or cavalry units unless they are part of a group containing infantry or cavalry, and that group must make an assault on those enemy units. Leaders moving alone, however, may enter such an area if it already contains friendly units.

2. Union Order of Appearance
The "Warren"marker is not available until the 0600 turn of 2 July.

1. All references to Zones should be understood to mean Off-map Zones.

2. Rule 12.1 Construction (of Entrenchments)
The presence of enemy units in an Area has no effect on whether or not you can attempt to construct entrenchments there.

3. Rule 14.2 Reorganizing Previously Eliminated Units
A single leader can reorganize as many units as he can during a single game turn. In addition, any number of units on the same side may do so on the same game turn, as long as they all meet the eligibility requirements.

4. Example p. 11
It has been pointed out by some that this example gives Area 64 a TEM of + 2 when it is only a + 1. In fact that is not the case. The example deals with Volley combat. The target Area of a volley must have a printed TEM of + 1, but the effective TEM for resolving the volley is + 2.

1. If an assault occurs in a Zone what is the TEM of the Zone?


2. How many units can participate in an attack in a Zone? All that are present?

As usual, all the activated phasing units participate in the attack (but ONLY those actually activated during the impulse), and all the non-phasing units in the zone defend.

3. If the attacker starts the assault in the Zone (did not move in) can he retreat to an adjacent Zone?

No; if you start an attack in a zone, and you lose, you simply stay there; no retreat.

4. Do moving units continue movement after an enemy mounted withdrawal (if they have MP's left)?

Yes. But there probably won't be too much opportunity for this.

5. Just out of curiosity, why does artillery get to choose the lead defending unit? This seems to make the Union Reserve Artillery extremely powerful. Not complaining, just wondering.

The rationale here was to allow artillery units to choose whether they'll try to hit enemy artillery or its covering infantry. Also, in game terms, it prevents a player from screening a bunch of weak units with one strong one, as is normally the case with volley and melee.

6. Say that MacDougall a/b and Lockwood a are attacking with MacDgall a the lead unit. Would the OT be 8 (5 MacDgall a + 2 two supporting units + 1 for three infantry units) or 7 (because you cannot count the lead unit as one of the three infantry units in the attack)?

Because all three units you mention belong to the same division, you do get the bonus. The lead unit counts when determining the bonus for division integrity. (See the example on p. 11).

7. Impulses: Assume current impulse is 13 and the CSA player rolls a "12," and controls 2 special areas for a +2 drm. Does impulse advance to an "imaginery" 14, or does the impulse stay on 13 until the turn ends? (I ask this because it really happened -- we were playing that each impulse advances one up the track, i.e. CSA 0. USA 1, CSA 2, USA 3, etc)

The Impulse Marker stays on the 13 box.

8. Reinforcements: If units delay their turn of arrival, can they "self-activate" on the turn they choose to arrive on?

Yes. But only on the turn they arrive (see 5.6).

9. Bombardmment and Volley: Since these rules are sprinkled throughout the rulebook and the step-by- step card, I just wish to confirm that you can't bombard or volley against an area containing friendly units. Is this correct?

Rules 8.1 and 9.1 are explicit; you cannot bombard or volley into an area containing friendly units.

10. Bombardment and Volley: Can you bombard or volley against enemy units located in the currently activated area?

No. See above.

11. Bombardment and Volley: Can you bombard or volley against an adjacent area if there are enemy units in the activated area?


12. Is there an order that activated units must follow (i.e. bombard then volley then assault)? Or may activated units follow any order, (i.e. assault to clear area, then have eligible units in cleared area bombard and/or volley)?

No, there is no order you have to do things. The Active Player may choose how to sequence his actions any way he sees fit.

13. Stacking: Can a group of units move through an area, but not stop there, if this would violate stacking (i.e. a group of 6 units wishes to move through an area containing 7 friendly units)?

Rule 10.3 states explicitly that if a moving unit would violate stacking by entering an area it cannot do so. In the above case, you could move the units through the area one at a time or in groups of 5 or less, but not all 6 at once.

14. Leader Movement: If a leader exits an enemy-occupied area, does he have to enter an area or zone that contains at least one friendly unit?

Yes. Rule 10.7 4) applies. Rule 104 merely says a leader may leave an enemy occupied area with no MP penalty.

15. Mounted Withdrawal: Must all mounted units withdraw to the same area?

No. There are no restrictions on how and where the units must withdraw other than those stated in rule 10.5.

16. Assualt/Bombardment/Volley: 10.13 says that an artillery unit serving as the lead defending unit in an assault cannot provide support. Can an artillery unit serving as the lead defending unit in a bombardment or volley provide support?


17. Retreats: Defenders can voluntarilly retreat after an enemy assault. Can they voluntarilly retreat from an enemy bombardment or volley (becoming spent in the process)?


18. Reorganizing: Does the unit removed permanently from play have to belong to the same parent formation (division? corps?) as the reorganized unit?


19. Victory: What happens if each side meets its victory conditions? Example-----in Scenario 1, both the CSA and the USA can gain tactical victories, as their objectives are not mutually exclusive.

You both win. Or, if you are a pessimist, then you both lose. Take your pick. Actually, just about every scenario shares this characteristic.

Note: In May 1997, the designer posted to the Spearhead Games folder on America Online two additional, important items of errata.

CSA Order of Appearance:

Johnson's Division and Dance and Nelson's artillery of II Corps, currently listed to arrive at 1800 1 July on the Hanover Road, is to arrive at 1800 1 July on the Chambersburg Pike.

USA Order of Appearance:

The Union II Corps units currently listed to arrive at 0600 2 July on the Baltimore Pike is to arrive at 0600 2 July on the Taneytown Road.