SUPPLEMENTARY RULES TO STREETS OF STALINGRADíS THIRD EDITION
By Dana Lombardy
9.67 Close Assault Bonus.† For any attack that has at least one unpinned/unspent attacking infantry or combat engineer unit adjacent to the target hex, the attacker may choose to roll his attack using a column one higher than his total AF.† However, he must announce this before the attack, and the defender may DF first using a column one higher than his total DF.† This represents more aggressive assaults that risk greater casualties, an option always available to the attacker.
Example: An attack with 15 total AF normally uses the 10-19 column on
the CRT.† In Close Assault Bonus, the
attacker may use the 20-29 column instead, but this allows the defender, with
3 DF, to fire first using the 4 column on the CRT.† After defensive fire, if there is still at
least one unpinned/unspent attacking infantry or combat engineer unit
adjacent to the target hex, the attacker may use the 20-29 column as Close
9.87 Retreat After Combat.† When a "P" result is obtained
against defending enemy units in a clear hex, all the defending units must
retreat one hex and are then pinned.†
The defending units may not retreat into an enemy ZOC, or into a hex
being attacked or bombarded,† or into a
friendly hex if that would cause that friendly hex to go over the stacking
limits outlined in section 5.0.†
Otherwise, the defender always chooses the hex he retreats into.† If any of the defending units are unable to
retreat, they are eliminated instead.
9.88 Retreat After Combat.† When a "P" result is obtained
against defending enemy units in a balka, forest, or suburb/village hex, all
the defending units may either:
a) retreat one hex as
outlined in rule 9.87; or
b) they may remain in the hex
but must eliminate one defending combat unit in order for the remaining
defending units to stay there.
In either case, the defending units are always pinned by a "P" result. Restrictions on retreat are the same as noted in rule 9.87.
9.89 Minefields and bridges are never required to retreat; "P" results do not affect them.† Fortifications and Soviet immobilized tank units may never retreat and are always eliminated by a "P" result if they are on clear, balka, forest, or suburb/village hexes